At RDN nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation stages which our trained staff deliver to allow all the children at the nursery the best opportunity to reach their full potential and prepare them for the next step of going to school.

The framework:

  • Sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well
  • Ensures children are kept healthy and safe
  • Ensures that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start school
  1. At RDN we believe that every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting is critical and at RDN we support the parents by offering high quality early learning that will provide the foundation that your children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow.
  2. At RDN we use the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to help set the standards that ensure that all children that come to RDN learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. We promote teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and help give children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.
  3. At RDN we put the safeguarding and welfare at the core of all we do.

How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. The link below will allow you access the document.

At RDN your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Useful Links

Foundation Stages Parents Guide


Parent Zone Introduction Video